top of page

Advisory Board

Members of the community that provide guidance to Silicon Valley Reads programs.

Mary Ann Dewan, Ph.D.

Co-chair, County Superintendent of Schools

Santa Clara County Office of Education

Jill Bourne

Co-chair, Library Director

City of San Jose

Jennifer Weeks

Co-chair, County Librarian

Santa Clara County Library District

Nicole Branch

Dean, University Library

Santa Clara University

Kelsey Martinez Combellick

Chief of Staff, Joe Simitian

City of San José, Board of Supervisors

Alicia Cortez

Trustee, Gavilan Join Community College, Former Dean, Equity & Engagement De Anza College

Tracy Gray

Library Director

City of Mountain View

Margaret Hengel

Past President

Santa Clara County Reading Council

Cindy Hill

Board President

Los Altos Library Endowment

Kara Iwahashi

Associate Program Director

The Commonwealth Club Silicon Valley

Katie Khera

Culture & Arts Commission

Morgan Hill Library

Deepka Lalwani


Indian Business & Professional Women

Grace Mah

Board Member

Santa Clara County Board of Education

Shannon Miller, Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Humanities and Arts

San Jose State University

Reid Myers


Silicon Valley Reads

Michelle Ornat

Deputy Director of Public Services

San José Public Library

Alyce Parsons

Author and Teacher

Sal Pizarro


The San Jose Mercury News

Diane Roche

Director of Communications & Marketing

Santa Clara County Library District

Marisa Spatafore

Associate Vice President Communications & External Relations

De Anza College

Geri Weimers

Community Volunteer

Patty Wong

City Librarian

Santa Clara City Library

bottom of page